MWRD accepting applications from local governments to address local flooding issues

Image courtesy of Captured News on Twitter

The Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago is accepting applications from local governments to address local flooding issues. The deadline is February 23, 2018.

Local governmental entities (i.e. municipalities, townships, and county agencies) must be within their service boundaries to apply for funding, engineering, or other assistance in addressing local flooding affecting Cook County communities.

Every local Cook County governmental agency will be mailed an invitation letter and program application which will provide the eligibility requirements and application instructions. The MWRD will prioritize the submitted projects based on MWRD’s current budgetary allocation for the program as well as other factors such as the project’s intended stormwater benefits towards protecting structures from flooding. Example flood control projects can involve the installation of localized detention, the upsizing of critical storm sewers and/or culverts, establishing drainage ways, or the installation of any combination of green and grey infrastructure.

As potential partners in the fight against flooding, please note that the success of MWRD’s Phase II Stormwater Management Program is reliant on cost sharing between the MWRD and the potential partner. Therefore, the MWRD requests that local governmental agencies determine their level of financial support toward a potential flood control project and include that information on the application.

The completed application form and associated support documentation should be mailed to:

Marcella V. Landis, Acting Director of Engineering Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago 100 E. Erie Street Chicago, IL 60611

For additional information, please contact (312) 751-3257.

0 views0 comments

Village of Alsip  •  Village of Beecher  •  City of Blue Island  •  Village of Burnham  •  City of Calumet City  •  Village of Calumet Park  •  City of Chicago Heights  •  City Of Country Club Hills  •  Village of Crestwood  •  Village of Crete  •  Village of Dixmoor  •  Village of Dolton  •  Village of East Hazel Crest  •  Village of Flossmoor  •  Village of Ford Heights  •  Village of Glenwood  •  City of Harvey  •  Village of Hazel Crest  •  Village of Homewood  •  Village of Lansing  •  Village of Lynwood  •  City of Markham  •  Village of Matteson  •  Village of Midlothian  •  Village of Mokena  •  Village of Monee  •  City of Oak Forest  •  Village of Olympia Fields  •  Village of Orland Hills  •  Village of Orland Park  •  Village of Park Forest  •  Village of Peotone  •  Village of Phoenix  •  Village of Posen  •  Village of Richton Park  •  Village of Riverdale  •  Village of Robbins  •  Village of Sauk Village  •  Village of South Chicago Heights  •  Village of South Holland  •  Village of Steger  •  Village of Thornton  •  Village of Tinley Park  •  Village of University Park  •  Village of Worth

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2021 by South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association