top of page

Park Forest Mayor Ostenburg to address lawyers on climate issues

Image courtesy of Mike Bloomberg‏ via Twitter

Mayor John A. Ostenburg of Park Forest will speak to the Environmental Law Committee of the Chicago Bar Association on March 21, explaining why Park Forest and other suburban municipalities recently signed on to the Chicago Climate Charter.

The discussion will be held at 3 p.m. at the offices of the law firm of Winston & Strawn, 35 W. Wacker Drive in Chicago.

The signing ceremony took place at the North American Climate Summit that was held in Chicago in early December and hosted by Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel. Fifty-one mayors from 10 different countries participated in the Summit.

Mayor Ostenburg is chairperson for the Environment Committee of the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus, an organization that represents approximately 270 municipalities in the greater Chicago region. Several MMC member communities were signatories to the Chicago Climate Charter, the principles of which are consistent with the MMC’s Greenest Region Compact, which has received the endorsement of the 10 regional councils of government in the suburban Chicago area.

Mayor Ostenburg explained that the principles of the Chicago Climate Charter dovetail with the commitments that Park Forest made in 2014 by adoption of its award-winning sustainability plan, “Growing Green.” Park Forest also has been recognized for its sustainability efforts by gaining a three- star rating from the STAR Communities rating system.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

RFP - Ford Heights Green Streets Project

THE VILLAGE OF FORD HEIGHTS, ILLINOIS, is soliciting bids from responsible and established bidders known to be experienced and regularly engaged in the construction of stormwater drainage facilities a


bottom of page