Infiltration and Inflow Control Program Public Meetings

TO: Agencies owning and operating separate sanitary sewer systems within the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago’s boundaries

SUBJECT: Creation of a new Infiltration and Inflow Control Program to address the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency’s National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit requirement

In an effort to devise reasonable and meaningful solutions to excessive Infiltration and Inflow (I/I), the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD) will be hosting four public meetings to facilitate further dialogue and explain parameters of a new I/I program. The south suburban meeting will be: *March 13, 2014, 7:00 – 9:00 pmSouth Suburban Mayors and Managers Association1906 W.  174th StreetEast Hazel Crest, IL 60429

*Please download MWRD’s memo for more meeting locations, dates and times.

As you may be aware, the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) has imposed a special condition in the recently-issued National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permits for the MWRD’ s Water Reclamation Plants. The special condition requires tributary local separate sanitary sewer agencies like yours to implement measures in addition to those required under the 1985 Sewer Summit Agreement if excessive III in the system causes or contributes to sanitary sewer overflows or basement backups…Continue reading here.

0 views0 comments

Village of Alsip  •  Village of Beecher  •  City of Blue Island  •  Village of Burnham  •  City of Calumet City  •  Village of Calumet Park  •  City of Chicago Heights  •  City Of Country Club Hills  •  Village of Crestwood  •  Village of Crete  •  Village of Dixmoor  •  Village of Dolton  •  Village of East Hazel Crest  •  Village of Flossmoor  •  Village of Ford Heights  •  Village of Glenwood  •  City of Harvey  •  Village of Hazel Crest  •  Village of Homewood  •  Village of Lansing  •  Village of Lynwood  •  City of Markham  •  Village of Matteson  •  Village of Midlothian  •  Village of Mokena  •  Village of Monee  •  City of Oak Forest  •  Village of Olympia Fields  •  Village of Orland Hills  •  Village of Orland Park  •  Village of Park Forest  •  Village of Peotone  •  Village of Phoenix  •  Village of Posen  •  Village of Richton Park  •  Village of Riverdale  •  Village of Robbins  •  Village of Sauk Village  •  Village of South Chicago Heights  •  Village of South Holland  •  Village of Steger  •  Village of Thornton  •  Village of Tinley Park  •  Village of University Park  •  Village of Worth

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2021 by South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association