top of page

Green Infrastructure Workshop in Homewood helps direct future plans

Photo courtesy of Lisa Cotner

Photo courtesy of Lisa Cotner

Illinois Department of Natural Resources, South Suburban Mayors and Managers, Field Museum, Chicago Wilderness and consulting partners met at Homewood Village Hall March 18 for one of two Green Infrastructure Planning Workshops. The planning process was to help identify successful green infrastructure implementation and activities to serve as models for others, and to seek input for future projects. Created by executive order of Governor Quinn, the Millennium Reserve is a 220-square mile opportunity—from Chicago to south Cook County—to transform our region in a way that honors its cultural and industrial past; restores and enhances the natural ecosystems; supports healthy and prosperous communities and residents; and stimulates vigorous and sustainable economic growth. Click here for a map of the Calumet Core of the Millennium Reserve. In March 2013, Governor Pat Quinn took a major step towards revitalizing Chicago’s Calumet region by announcing $6.8 million in state and local investments to continue developing the Millennium Reserve, a 140,000-acre project to create the largest open space area in the country.

For more photos by Lisa Cotner, click here.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

THE VILLAGE OF FORD HEIGHTS, ILLINOIS, is soliciting bids from responsible and established bidders known to be experienced and regularly engaged in the construction of stormwater drainage facilities a

bottom of page