top of page

SSMMA approves 2019-2020 slate of officers

Newly elected SSMMA President Tyrone Ward (left) and SSMMA Executive Director Kristi DeLaurentiis (right) offer outgoing President Vernard Alsberry, Jr. (center) a plaque of appreciation for his dedicated leadership during the 2017 – 2019 terms.

The South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association approved Robbins Mayor Tyrone Ward as SSMMA’s 2019-2020 president (see related story), along with a new slate of officers at the May 16 dinner meeting. SSMMA also recognized current President and Hazel Crest Mayor Vernard Alsberry, Jr. for his dedicated leadership during the 2017-2019 terms.

Mayor Ward is a lifetime resident of Robbins. He was first elected as mayor in April 2013, and reelected in 2017. Prior to that, he served as a village trustee. He has also held the positions of village comptroller, personnel director, and purchasing agent. His public service life was crystallized when he founded the Lillian Bryant Ward-Spearmon Foundation, a philanthropic organization to honor his mother’s legacy.

Ward attended neighborhood schools and graduated from Dwight D. Eisenhower High School in Blue Island, IL. After operating several successful businesses, he returned to school to focus on education for our youth. He currently teaches Language Arts at Kellar Middle School in Robbins, IL.

In addition to Mayor Ward, the following will make up the 2019-2020 Executive Committee: Hazel Crest Mayor Vernard Alsberry, Jr. as immediate past president, Thornton Mayor Bob Kolosh as vice president, Glenwood Mayor Ron Gardiner as secretary, Lynwood Mayor Gene Williams as treasurer, Flossmoor Mayor Paul Braun and Lansing Mayor Patricia Eidam as Cook County at-large representatives, and Beecher Mayor Greg Szymanski as the Will county at-large representative.

Committee chairs include: Crete Mayor Mike Einhorn as Transportation chairman, Thornton Mayor Bob Kolosh as Public Safety chairman, Richton Park Mayor Rick Reinbold as Legislative chairman, Country Club Hills Mayor James Ford as Housing chairman, Thornton Village Manager Doug Beckman and Richton Park Village Manager Regan Stockstell as Management & Finance co-chairs.

The officers and chair terms will take effect at the June 20 business meeting.

Congratulations to the newly elected officers. We look forward to working with them this coming year. SSMMA also gratefully acknowledges the Village of Robbins for kindly hosting this event as well as Comcast for their sponsorship. The meeting took place at Balagio Ristorante & Banquets in Homewood.

More photos are here.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page