top of page

SSMMA approves 2016-2017 slate of officers at May dinner meeting

The South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association approved Park Forest Mayor John Ostenburg as the organization’s 2016-2017 president, along with a new slate of officers. Their terms will take effect at the June 16 business meeting. In addition, the association recognized current President and Olympia Fields Mayor Debbie Meyers-Martin for her leadership and dedication during the 2015-2016 year. The event took place May 19 at a dinner meeting held at Dining on the Green in Park Forest.

Mayor Ostenburg has served the residents of Park Forest as a village trustee, a state representative, and as mayor. During his 16-year tenure as mayor, Mr. Ostenburg has led Park Forest in obtaining millions of dollars in grants and other funding for improvements to roads and other infrastructure. He sees one of his roles as “door opener” for village staff to use his expertise to obtain federal, state, county, and other funding for important projects. Please click here to learn more about the mayor’s accomplishments, experience and expertise.

SSMMA’s new slate of officers also includes Hazel Crest Mayor Vernard Alsberry as vice president, Monee Mayor Jay Farquhar as secretary, Robbins Mayor Tyrone Ward as treasurer, Lansing Mayor Norm Abbott and Matteson Mayor Andre Ashmore as Cook County-at-large representatives, and Beecher Mayor Greg Szymanski as the Will County-at-large representative.

In addition to the officers above, the following will make up the 2016-2017 Executive Committee: Olympia Fields Mayor Debbie Meyers-Martin as immediate past president, Crete Mayor Mike Einhorn as transportation chairman, Thornton Mayor Bob Kolosh as public safety chairman, Richton Park Mayor Rick Reinbold as legislative chairman, Park Forest Village Manager Tom Mick and Flossmoor Village Manager Bridget Wachtel as Management & Finance co-chairs, and Steger Village Administrator Mike Tilton as a Management & Finance representative.

After SSMMA approved the Executive Committee, Illinois Philharmonic Orchestra Board Member Kathy Orr and Executive Director Eska Koester presented information about the IPO and requested partnership with association members. Dr. Jifunza Wright-Carter,  MD of the Black Oaks Center for Sustainable and Renewable Living discussed building a local food framework in the 2nd Congressional district. Her presentation slides are here. We thank them all for insightful presentations.

SSMMA gratefully acknowledges the Village of Park Forest for kindly hosting this event as well as ComEd for their sponsorship. More photos are here.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page