top of page

SSMMA Announces 2013-2014 Slate of Officers

The South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association (SSMMA) elected Flossmoor Mayor Paul S. Braun as 2013-2014 president of its board of directors at the May dinner meeting held at Idlewild Country Club.

Mayor Braun has been working on legislative affairs affecting the Chicago Southland region through SSMMA and working to help bring economic development opportunities to the region through the Chicago Southland Economic Development Corporation.

“In order to create long term stability and sustainable economic development of the Southland region, all stakeholders including municipalities, businesses, education institutions, and business councils must speak with one strong and united voice both in Springfield and in Washington D.C.,” Mayor Braun said.

Braun has served the Village of Flossmoor as mayor since 2009. He is a 32 year resident of the village, having graduated from Homewood-Flossmoor High School, earning a degree from John Marshall Law School, and marrying a Flossmoor resident, Mib Bramlette. He has been actively involved in many civic, charitable, and professional organizations including the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus, Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning, Harold Colbert Jones Community Center, South Suburban Bar Association, and the Family Law Committee Illinois State Bar Association. Prior to his service as Mayor of Flossmoor, he was a member of the Flossmoor Planning Commission for three years. He also served as a Flossmoor village trustee for seven years, and has been on the board of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers for 10 years.

Joining Mayor Braun as SSMMA officers for the 2013-14 year are: Vice President Mike Einhorn (Crete Village President), Secretary David Gonzalez (Chicago Heights Mayor), Treasurer Debbie Meyers Martin (Olympia Fields Village President), Cook County At-Large Delegate Norm Abbott (Lansing Village President), Will County At-Large Delegate John Ostenburg (Park Forest Village President) and Managers Representative Donna Gayden (Glenwood Village Administrator).

Created in 1978, the South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association is an intergovernmental agency providing technical assistance and joint services to 42 municipalities representing a population of over 650,000 in Cook and Will Counties. SSMMA members work cooperatively on transportation, legislation, land use, economic development, recycling, purchasing, storm water and open space planning, infrastructure, human resources, public safety and housing issues.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page