top of page

Regional school counselors take ‘Taste of Manufacturing’ tour

Image courtesy of the Calumet Manufacturing Industry Sector Partnership

Manufacturers and counselors from Homewood-Flossmoor High School, Rich Township High School District 227, Thornton Township High School and Bloom Township High School District 206 participated in the Taste of Manufacturing tour on Nov. 29. Companies visited included Triton-Molex Manufacturing in Monee, Whiting Corporation in Monee, and Little Giant in University Park.

The Calumet Manufacturing Industry Sector Partnership led the tour in efforts to raise awareness about the needs of the next generation of employers and career possibilities for high school students. SSMMA /CSEDC Economic Development Director Reggie Greenwood emceed the event.

The Calumet Manufacturing Industry Sector Partnership (CMISP) represents a collaborative effort to launch a company-led sector-based partnership in the Calumet region. It is led by the following organizations: Chicago Southland Economic Development Corporation, Chicago Cook Workforce Partnership, Calumet Area Industrial Commission, Chicago Federation of Labor, OAI, Inc., the Illinois Manufacturing Excellence Center, the Chicago Metro Metal Consortium and the Cook County Bureau of Economic Development.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page