Public Assistance Program applications for COVID-19 costs due April 12

The Federal government declared a disaster specific to the COVID-19 pandemic on March 13, 2020. This step, in conjunction with the State and Cook County disaster declarations, means that local units of government may be entitled to Federal reimbursement of up to 75% of their pandemic response costs. Such reimbursements will come through the Public Assistance (PA) grant program. Each local unit of government must register for PA through the State of Illinois no later than April 12, 2020  (see deadline memo) if they intend to submit for reimbursement. See the Coronavirus (COVID-19) Pandemic: Public Assistance Simplified Application Fact Sheet or Applicant Quick Guide for more information. The Quick Guide explains the steps an Applicant must take in creating a Public Assistance (PA) Grants Portal user account and submitting Requests for Public Assistance (RPA). See the Illinois Emergency Management Agency PA Sheet for additional information.

Update: To ensure all communities are able to submit their Request for Public Assistance (RPA) applications by April 12th, 2020, SSMMA has scheduled a video conference call to provide technical assistance to any community that needs help with the form.

The video conference line will open on April 8  at 10:30 with a walkthrough of form, then Q & A. The line will remain open until noon to provide as needed support.

Please share this information with the appropriate municipal personnel, including Police and Fire, as needed.

Access video conference call through this link:


Questions? Or need assistance contact Kristi: 708-567-5156 or Sarah Kobetis at 708-922-4604.

0 views0 comments

Village of Alsip  •  Village of Beecher  •  City of Blue Island  •  Village of Burnham  •  City of Calumet City  •  Village of Calumet Park  •  City of Chicago Heights  •  City Of Country Club Hills  •  Village of Crestwood  •  Village of Crete  •  Village of Dixmoor  •  Village of Dolton  •  Village of East Hazel Crest  •  Village of Flossmoor  •  Village of Ford Heights  •  Village of Glenwood  •  City of Harvey  •  Village of Hazel Crest  •  Village of Homewood  •  Village of Lansing  •  Village of Lynwood  •  City of Markham  •  Village of Matteson  •  Village of Midlothian  •  Village of Mokena  •  Village of Monee  •  City of Oak Forest  •  Village of Olympia Fields  •  Village of Orland Hills  •  Village of Orland Park  •  Village of Park Forest  •  Village of Peotone  •  Village of Phoenix  •  Village of Posen  •  Village of Richton Park  •  Village of Riverdale  •  Village of Robbins  •  Village of Sauk Village  •  Village of South Chicago Heights  •  Village of South Holland  •  Village of Steger  •  Village of Thornton  •  Village of Tinley Park  •  Village of University Park  •  Village of Worth

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2021 by South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association