Illinois municipalities announce “Moving Cities Forward” legislative package

IML Executive Director Brad Cole, IML Board President and Chatham Village President Tom Gray, IML Sergeant at Arms and Lynwood Village President Eugene Williams and IML Board First Vice President and Barrington Village President Karen Darch present the “Moving Cities Forward” legislative package at a Feb 23 press conference in Springfield, IL.

Press release from the Illinois Municipal League:

Municipal leaders across the state today outlined a comprehensive legislative reform package titled “Moving Cities Forward” geared towards driving more efficiencies that would maintain the health of local governments which are crucial to Illinois’ economy.

In conjunction with the Illinois Municipal League (IML), mayors across the state are calling for necessary solutions that can no longer be deferred, especially in the midst of the continued budget impasse at the statehouse. The reform package includes automatic appropriation authority (motor fuel tax, 9-1-1, use tax and gaming revenues), home rule eligibility expansion, workers compensation reform, prevailing wage exemptions and public safety arbitration reform. IML points out many of these issues have been long championed by mayors, while some are intended to address problems that have been exacerbated due the budget impasse…Read more here. Details on the “Moving Cities Forward” priorities are here.

0 views0 comments

Village of Alsip  •  Village of Beecher  •  City of Blue Island  •  Village of Burnham  •  City of Calumet City  •  Village of Calumet Park  •  City of Chicago Heights  •  City Of Country Club Hills  •  Village of Crestwood  •  Village of Crete  •  Village of Dixmoor  •  Village of Dolton  •  Village of East Hazel Crest  •  Village of Flossmoor  •  Village of Ford Heights  •  Village of Glenwood  •  City of Harvey  •  Village of Hazel Crest  •  Village of Homewood  •  Village of Lansing  •  Village of Lynwood  •  City of Markham  •  Village of Matteson  •  Village of Midlothian  •  Village of Mokena  •  Village of Monee  •  City of Oak Forest  •  Village of Olympia Fields  •  Village of Orland Hills  •  Village of Orland Park  •  Village of Park Forest  •  Village of Peotone  •  Village of Phoenix  •  Village of Posen  •  Village of Richton Park  •  Village of Riverdale  •  Village of Robbins  •  Village of Sauk Village  •  Village of South Chicago Heights  •  Village of South Holland  •  Village of Steger  •  Village of Thornton  •  Village of Tinley Park  •  Village of University Park  •  Village of Worth

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2021 by South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association