Five Southland communities to receive local technical assistance from CMAP


Local Technical Assistance (LTA) program projects include Blue Island’s capital improvement program, Pullman National Historic Park, Calumet Park’s planning priorities report, Richton Park’s capital improvement program, South Holland’s comprehensive plan and Steger’s planning priorities report. Click here for a full list of projects.

CMAP’s LTA program is dependent upon partner support to build local capacity and implement LTA-sponsored plans across northeastern Illinois. The LTA program is coordinated annually with the Regional Transportation Authority’s Community Planning Program. Other LTA partners include the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus, the Metropolitan Planning Council, and Center for Neighborhood Technology, The Chicago Community Trust, and the Urban Land Institute (ULI) Chicago, and transportation and planning agencies across the region.

CMAP established the LTA program shortly after GO TO 2040’s adoption in October 2010 with a $4.25 million three-year federal grant from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Since the HUD grant expired in January 2014, the program has been supported by the U.S. Department of Transportation, the U.S. Economic Development Administration, the Illinois Attorney General, the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, and The Chicago Community Trust. Click here for more information.

The Times reports a related story here.

0 views0 comments