Smart Growth America/Form-Based Codes Inst. seek submissions of exemplary zoning codes

Smart Growth America has announced the tenth annual award for achievement in the writing and implementation of form-based codes. Thanks to the generosity of the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust, FBCI and Smart Growth America will recognize exemplary form-based codes that have been adopted by localities.

Form-based codes are municipal zoning codes that shape development by defining characteristics of building form, streets, and open space as opposed to relying on use as an organizing principle. Or, put another way, they’re a tool for defining the kind of place you want to create, rather than what happens inside the building. They allow a community to implement their vision for what kind of place they want to be and create a more predictable environment for development. A form-based zoning code fosters predictable built results and a high-quality public realm by using physical form—rather than separation of uses—as the organizing principle for the code. Form-based codes often serve as the regulatory framework for smart growth in communities across the country. Click here to learn more about SGA’s strategic partner, the Form-Based Code Institute.

The award jury’s considerations will include how the code addresses the following questions:

  1. Will the code deliver a predictable street character (public space)?

  2. Is the code implementable and relatively easy to use?

  3. Does this code have relevant and distinguishing features that advance the practice?

  4. Will this code promote good urbanism (has it resulted in high-quality development activity)?

Submissions are due on March 16th, 2018. Details can be found on the FBCI website, including the application form and instructions, previous winners, the 2018 Awards Jury, and eligibility requirements.

0 views0 comments

Village of Alsip  •  Village of Beecher  •  City of Blue Island  •  Village of Burnham  •  City of Calumet City  •  Village of Calumet Park  •  City of Chicago Heights  •  City Of Country Club Hills  •  Village of Crestwood  •  Village of Crete  •  Village of Dixmoor  •  Village of Dolton  •  Village of East Hazel Crest  •  Village of Flossmoor  •  Village of Ford Heights  •  Village of Glenwood  •  City of Harvey  •  Village of Hazel Crest  •  Village of Homewood  •  Village of Lansing  •  Village of Lynwood  •  City of Markham  •  Village of Matteson  •  Village of Midlothian  •  Village of Mokena  •  Village of Monee  •  City of Oak Forest  •  Village of Olympia Fields  •  Village of Orland Hills  •  Village of Orland Park  •  Village of Park Forest  •  Village of Peotone  •  Village of Phoenix  •  Village of Posen  •  Village of Richton Park  •  Village of Riverdale  •  Village of Robbins  •  Village of Sauk Village  •  Village of South Chicago Heights  •  Village of South Holland  •  Village of Steger  •  Village of Thornton  •  Village of Tinley Park  •  Village of University Park  •  Village of Worth

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2021 by South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association