top of page

EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD: SSMMA announces 2014 priorities

Each year the South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association develops its legislative priorities for the federal, state and county levels.

The resulting policy statement is developed with input from many of our 43 municipalities through the Legislative Committee, chaired by Mayor Rick Reinbold of Richton Park.

This year’s legislative policy statement was recently approved by the full membership and presented to our federal officials, state legislators, and county commissioners at our annual legislative breakfast on Jan. 31. Nearly 70 municipal officials joined representatives of U.S. Sens. Dick Durbin and Mark Kirk, Reps. Bobby Rush and Robin Kelly, and Cook County Commissioners Deborah Sims, Liz Gorman and Joan Murphy along with a representative for President Toni Preckwinkle. State legislators included Sens. Hastings and Cunningham, Reps. Anthony DeLuca, Will Davis, Al Riley and Elgie Sims Jr., as well as a representative of Sen. Toi Hutchinson and House Minority Leader Jim Durkin…Please click here to read the rest of Ed Paesel’s guest column in the Times, or here for the legislative policy statement.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page