top of page

Municipal leaders discuss priorities with legislators at annual breakfast

L-R: SSMMA Executive Director Kristi DeLaurentiis, Lt. Gov. Juliana Stratton and SSMMA President Vernard Alsberry, Jr.

Nearly 125 participants including members of the South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association, legislators and regional business leaders gathered Feb. 8 at our annual Legislative Breakfast for panel discussions on the association’s 2019 Legislative Priorities. The event was held at Idlewild Country Club in Flossmoor.

This year, SSMMA’s Legislative Committee targeted four high priority goals for the south suburban region. These four priorities—while seemingly unrelated—have at their core the same goals: improving the Southland’s overall stability, sustainability, and financial solvency to ensure long-term economic success. The future of south suburban communities depends on:

  1. Expanding the economic development tools of the Southland,

  2. Stabilizing local government and municipal budgets,

  3. Reforming and consolidating public safety pension funds, and

  4. Passing a fiscally responsible capital infrastructure Investment program

Read more about the SSMMA’s 2019 legislative priority goals here.

We thank all who participated in the program and panel discussions as well as elected officials who sent representatives. Attendees included Illinois Lt. Gov. Juliana Stratton, Illinois State Treasurer Michael Frerichs, Illinois State Senators Napoleon Harris and Michael Hastings, Illinois State Reps. Kelly Burke, William Davis, Anthony DeLuca, Margo McDermed, Debbie Meyers Martin, Nicholas Smith and Emanuel Chris Welch, and Cook County Commissioner Donna Miller.

Also present were: Dan McManus and Loren Harris (representing U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth), Rick Bryant (representing U.S. Rep. Robin Kelly), Robyn Wheeler Grange (representing U.S. Rep. Bobby Rush), Micaela Smith (representing IL State Rep. Marcus Evans), Julie Pierce and Will Mackey (representing IL State Rep. Thaddeus Jones),  Sydney Holman (Representing Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle), Warren Callahan (representing Cook County Commissioner Stanley Moore), Shaun McCabe (representing Cook County Commissioner Sean M. Morrison), Illinois Municipal League Executive Director Brad Cole and SSMMA municipal and associate members.

We thank Legislative Committee and Chairman Rick Reinbold for leading the committee that developed this year’s Legislative Priorities. We also thank Sam Balark and AT&T for their generous sponsorship of this event.

Please watch for information on our upcoming May 1 Springfield Lobby Day. We hope municipal leaders and legislators will join us. More photos can be found here.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page