top of page

Governor Quinn Announces Nearly $190 Million in Federal Grants, Loans Aiding Flood Recovery Deadlin

Press release from Gov. Pat Quinn’s office:

Governor Pat Quinn today announced nearly $190 million in federal grants and loans have been approved to date to help people and businesses in 35 counties recover after widespread flooding in April. In addition, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today approved the state’s request for a 15-day extension of the registration deadline. People who suffered damage or loss between April 16 and May 5 now have until Aug. 8 to register for federal grants and loans.

In May, Governor Quinn successfully secured a federal disaster declaration that made these grants and loans available. Federal aid approved to date includes $142.7 million in FEMA grants to more than 58,000 people whose homes and personal items were damaged or destroyed. In addition, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved $46.4 million in loans for people and businesses affected by flooding.

“These grants and loans are helping thousands of people repair or rebuild their homes after the historic floods this spring,” Governor Quinn said. “Without this aid, recovery would have been difficult, if not impossible for many people. We requested the deadline extension to ensure everyone who suffered damage or loss has a chance to apply. I urge all those in need to apply before August 8.”

People in the 35 federally designated counties are eligible to apply for federal aid, which can include grants to help with home repairs, replacement of damaged personal property and other disaster-related expenses, as well as low-interest, long-term SBA loans. Those counties include Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.

Registration for federal disaster aid can be completed online at or via web-enabled phone at People may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. Residents who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS) can call 800-621-3362.

Governor Quinn also secured federal aid to help local governments in 40 counties recover most of their expenses for response and recovery from April floods. Those counties include Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Clark, Crawford, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Will and Woodford counties.

FEMA and the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) currently are assisting local governments with their applications for federal reimbursement of 75 percent of eligible flood-related expenses.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page