Chicago Heights, Park Forest, Markham among pilot sites to help study and establish community shared

Cook County Announces Pilot Sites to Help Establish Community Shared Solar Power

Initiative will broaden the reach of solar energy to residents, businesses, institutions 

The Cook County Department of Environmental Control and its partners have selected 15 pilot sites to help study and establish community shared solar power in the region.

The sites selected are located throughout Cook County and reflect a variety of building and property types, including a community college, affordable housing units, a landfill, industrial sites and places of worship.

Community shared solar is a solar-electric system that provides power and/or financial benefits to multiple community members, expanding access to solar power for renters, condominium owners, those with shaded roofs and those who choose not to install a residential system on their home for financial or other reasons.

The south suburban sites are:

  1. Prairie State College, 202 S. Halsted St., Chicago Heights

  2. Housing Authority of Cook County vacant land in Chicago Heights, IL.

  3. Rich East High School, 300 Sauk Trail, Park Forest

  4. Markham Courthouse, 16501 S. Kedzie Ave., Markham

Cook County and its partners, with federal funding of $1.2 million from the U.S. Department of Energy, are creating a solar energy case study and engineering assessment for each site to help property owners enter the community solar market. Read more.

0 views0 comments

Village of Alsip  •  Village of Beecher  •  City of Blue Island  •  Village of Burnham  •  City of Calumet City  •  Village of Calumet Park  •  City of Chicago Heights  •  City Of Country Club Hills  •  Village of Crestwood  •  Village of Crete  •  Village of Dixmoor  •  Village of Dolton  •  Village of East Hazel Crest  •  Village of Flossmoor  •  Village of Ford Heights  •  Village of Glenwood  •  City of Harvey  •  Village of Hazel Crest  •  Village of Homewood  •  Village of Lansing  •  Village of Lynwood  •  City of Markham  •  Village of Matteson  •  Village of Midlothian  •  Village of Mokena  •  Village of Monee  •  City of Oak Forest  •  Village of Olympia Fields  •  Village of Orland Hills  •  Village of Orland Park  •  Village of Park Forest  •  Village of Peotone  •  Village of Phoenix  •  Village of Posen  •  Village of Richton Park  •  Village of Riverdale  •  Village of Robbins  •  Village of Sauk Village  •  Village of South Chicago Heights  •  Village of South Holland  •  Village of Steger  •  Village of Thornton  •  Village of Tinley Park  •  Village of University Park  •  Village of Worth

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2021 by South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association