























March 17, 2023

Members of the Illinois General Assembly,

Beginning in 2020, Executive Order 2020-07 and later Public Act 101-0640 permitted public bodies subject to the Open Meetings Act (OMA) to meet remotely following the issuance of a disaster declaration from the Governor or the Director of the Illinois Department of Public Health and a determination of the head of the public body that an in-person meeting would not be practical or prudent.

Despite the numerous challenges faced by counties and municipalities during the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to conduct remote meetings through audio and video conference has proven to be beneficial to elected officials, staff, and the public, increasing transparency and opportunities for public participation in local government. House Bill 1408, sponsored by Representative Janet Yang Rohr, and Senate Bill 103, sponsored by Senator Cristina Castro, seek to grant local officials the authority to conduct meetings remotely without the prerequisite of a disaster declaration. This legislation would allow local leaders to decide what is best for their community and ensure that health, safety, and integrity of both the public body and the public are maintained during a response to a local crisis or major events. Remote meetings also facilitate greater participation from the public and engagement from all stakeholders, providing local officials with invaluable input on issues of importance in the community.

On behalf of municipal and county governments, the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus, Barrington Area Council of Governments, DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference, Illinois State Association of Counties, Lake County Municipal League, McHenry County Council of Governments, Metro West Council of Government, Northwest Municipal Conference, South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association, Southwest Conference of Mayors, West Central Municipal Conference, and Will County Governmental League request your support for adopting House Bill 1408 and Senate Bill 103 with all possible expediency.

Please contact Suzette Quintell, Executive Director of the DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference, at (630) 576-9134 or squintell@dmmc-cog.org with any questions or if additional information is needed. Thank you for your attention to our request.

## Sincerely,

Joseph Marchese Mark Kownick oseph A Marchese Marley Homes Chairman, Metropolitan Mayors Caucus President, DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference Mayor, Village of Cary Mayor, City of Darien Greg Rusteberg Joe McCoy Joseph G. MCL Executive Director, Illinois State Association of Counties President, Barrington Area Council of Governments President, Village of Deer Park Richard E. Mack Dominic Marturano Richard E. Mark President, McHenry County Council of Governments President, Lake County Municipal League President, Village of Ringwood Mayor, Village of Lindenhurst Stephan Pickett Dan Shapiro 1 President, Metro West Council of Government President, Northwest Municipal Conference Mayor, Village of Deerfield President, Village of Sleepy Hollow Robert Kolosh Gerry Bennett Robert Kalel President, Southwest Conference of Mayors President, South Suburban Mayors & Managers Association Mayor, City of Palos Hills President, Village of Thornton Rich Pellegrino Steven Streit President, Will County Governmental League Executive Director, West Central Municipal Conference Mayor, City of Lockport